Mortise and Tenon 101

Experience Level: ANY

Instructor: James Wright 
Wood By Wright

Class Size: 20

Sessions: 1 session at 3-4 hours

This course will be over Zoom. 

James Wright Wood By Wright holding a mortice and tenon wood joint

Course Description

In the Mortise and Tenon 101 class will be focusing on making your first mortise and tenon joints. In this 3-4 hour class, we will be covering the simple through mortise and tenon, and then modifying it into a tusked tenon. If time permits, we will make another stopped M&T.  This class will be geared toward the first-time M&T joint and will include step-by-step guidance at the speed of the class.

James will have multiple camera angles set up and will have 5 in person students. Registration is only open for virtual/Zoom students at this time. For his future courses, we will be able to offer both in person and virtual seats.

Tools Needed* 

Required tools:
-Tenon saw
-Bench chisel set
-Marking knife
-4-6″ Square
-Marking Gauge
-Brace (or drill)
-Auger or drill bits
 
Optional tools:
-Caracas saw
-Shoulder or Rabbet Plane
-Mortising Guage
-File Set
 
Lumber need:
2 pieces at 3/4″ x 3 1/2″ x 12″
1 piece at 1 1/2″ x 1 1/2″ x 12″
1 piece at 3/4″ x 2″ x 6″
 
*If you qualify for free courses and you do not have the tools or lumber to participate in this course, please let us know in the Additional Comments of the registration form. We may be able to get these supplies for you. To see if you qualify, click HERE.

Course Cost*

 $120 = $90 (Mental Heath Awareness Month Discount!) 
 
*If you qualify for a free course, you will not be charged for anything. Application steps are in the registration form or click HERE to see if you qualify.

Course Dates

June 8th, 2024 from 9 a.m. CST (10 a.m. EST) to about 12 and 1 p.m. CST (1 to 2 p.m. EST)